Quote of the Week

I am reading The Last Olympian [Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5] right now and I am really enjoying this series. I guess I should thank Jordan for shoving The Lightening Thief down my throat. So thank you Jordan. In the spirit of that I thought that I should share a quote with you from the first book in this series, because the mixture of the beautiful and prophetical language and Percy’s sassiness made for a delightful read! Also nobody can say that they honestly find Greek Mythology boring!

“Even strength must bow to wisdom sometimes.”

           – Rick Riordan, The Lightening Thief [Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book One]

I find this quote to be one of the most beautifully written in the book, and then the great thing is that it contrasts with something like this:

“I’d love to tell you I had some deep revelation on my way down, that I came to terms with my own mortality, laughed in the face of death, et cetera.

The truth? My only thought was: Aaaaggghhhhh!”

          – Rick Riordan, The Lightening Thief [Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book One]

It is books these that I find the most enjoyable. It shows that the writer is not trying to impress you with being profound throughout the entirety of the book, but at the same time it shows that the writer builds characters that are so multi-dimensional they practically leap off the page. This book series has brought me back to my childhood in many ways. It reminds me of Harry Potter in many senses, but at the same time it brings its own uniqueness to the table. I am now even thinking of reading The Heroes of Olympus series!

Let me know what your thoughts are on Percy Jackson, and don’t you dare even bring up the movies!

– Hannah

Leave a Reply

