Quote of the Week

In honour of one of my favourite Novellas releasing the second instalment yesterday, I decided that I should take a quote from Never Never that I love, and share it with the world! Well, maybe not the literal world, but whom ever decided that this post is worth reading! So this is for you, and for the books that inspire me to write these posts!

“How odd to be made of flesh, balanced on bone, and filled with a soul you’ve never met.

                               – Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher, Never Never

If you were not aware, Jordan and I are finishing up Grade 11 in a month, and with that comes a decent amount of pressure. We have to start to be able to form the answers to questions about who we are, where we want to go in life, what we want to study in university, and what we want out of life. This quote reminds me that it is fine to not completely understand the answers to all of these questions. I am made of flesh and balanced on bone, and I sure as heck do not understand myself in its entirety. Sometimes I feel that we as people view our own souls and desires as part of something outside ourselves, which is silly because they are what make us us. I could very well not be making any sense right now, but sometimes I think it is important to try and impart what little knowledge I let myself think I have. We should stop forcing ourselves to figure ourselves out, and just let it happen. One time I read an article about how great painters and writers try and completely empty their mind in order to find the inspiration to do what they love to do. We should be trying those same tactics. Empty our minds, let ‘soul-searching’ happen, and don’t try to analyze it. Maybe I am completely wrong about this, but I guess I will figure that out later. Perhaps, there is no ‘right’ way to find yourself, maybe we already know who we are, but nobody knows how to express what makes them, them.

I am going to stop trying my hand at philosophy right now, I don’t have to take that course until next year, and I would prefer not to get ahead on work in a class I am not starting until September.

Anyway, keep designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

 

Leave a Reply

