Book Review: The Taking by Kimberly Derting

A woman at my local bookstore always talks to me whenever I go looking for some new books. (which is often) And one time she saw me and immediately started freaking out about this book she read called The Taking by Kimberly Derting and how amazing and epic and awesome it is and that I just had to get it.

So obviously I bought the book, and I recently read it and oh my god was it ever amazing!

The Taking is about this 16 year old girl named Kyra. She has a great life, good greats, awesome family, even more awesome boy friend, and she even just won the champion ship for her school softball team. Life couldn’t get any better. But when Kyra and her Dad get into an argument about college she gets out of the car, she sees a bright light and then nothing.

She wakes up behind a dumpster and returns to her house to find that she has been missing for 5 years. But she hasn’t aged a day. Her dad, who had become obsessed with that dreadful night, claims her disappearance had to do with fireflies. Kyra doesn’t know what to think and starts to find refuge in her old boyfriends younger, but now 16 year old brother. With rumours about how she disappeared coming from left and right its up to her and Tyler to figure out what really happened on that night 5 years ago.

The Taking by Kimberly Derting

The Taking by Kimberly Derting

The Taking was super fast paced and definitely headed in a completely different direction than I thought it would. I went into this book knowing almost nothing other than her strange disappearance so I was pleasantly surprised when different elements that I was not expecting were added to the story. I really enjoyed Kyra and Tyler’s dynamic and I can’t wait to see more of them together in the second book The Replaced which comes out at the end of April.

I actually didn’t know this was a series so when I finished the book I was freaking out because their were pieces that still needed to be wrapped up. I am so psyched to continue on with this series, I know its going to go far. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a cute contemporary with an added twist and lots of action.

I hope you guys give this book a try!

Keep on reading…

Jordan

Leave a Reply

