Book Review: Invaded

Alienated by Melissa Landers was one of my favourite reads of 2014 finishing it in pretty much 2 days. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on Invaded and I finally read it! (This does not spoiler either books)17316770

Alienated is about a girl named Cara who signs up to be part of the intergalactic exchange program and metsΒ Aelyx, a L’eihr that doesn’t want to form an alliance with the humans and will do whatever he can to stop it. Until he realizes that they are not all what the internet and stories make them out to be.

Invaded picks up right where Alienated left off and it was great to be back in this world that is funny and filled with amazing pop culture references. The characters were still just as interesting and the new ones were just as great. I loved seeing the L’eihrs world in greater detail and seeing the similarities and differences between these very human-looking aliens. However, the plot dragged a fair amount. I felt like there was a lot of build up during certain points in the point only to have nothing happen and the excitement fade back down to a slow but steady pace. I still did enjoy the book, I just don’t think it was as strong of a sequel as I was hoping for. I imagined more action but I guess you can’t find much action on a planet where nobody breaks the law.

I am still hoping that Melissa Landers is able to continue this series and create and strong trilogy instead but the ending to this book was satisfying, although 2 more chapters would have been perfect.

Overall, I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars because I love these characters and this world and even though the plot wasn’t as gripping as I would have hoped I still was unable to put it down! I really hope you consider reading this series if you haven’t already!

Keep on reading,

Jordan πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

