Movie Review: The DUFF

I am finally writing this review, it feels almost surreal.

As I am sure some of you readers know, I had the chance to go see The DUFF at an early screening, and I wrote all about the experience too! It was definitely an adventure getting there, and even more of an adventure in the theatre! But all in all, it was a great night full of laughter and just a plain old fun time. So, without any more delay, here is my review of the DUFF…

*This Review Will Contain Spoilers for both the Book and the Movie*

To kick everything off, I knew walking into the movie that it was going to be significantly different from the book, but I just did not know how much they were going to change. And the answer is – a lot more than I expected, and I did not appreciate it. I know that they had to change things in the movie to keep the rating low, and to just generally adapt it for the silver screen. But in many ways, I feel like they only kept the rough storyline, the characters name, and the overall outcome. Think of it this way; the book is the Banana Split, the one with the good ice-cream, with whipped cream, sprinkles, fudge sauce, caramel sauce, strawberries, and a cherry on top, the movie is a bowl of ice cream. Don’t get me wrong, it was still good, it was just not as good as I would have liked it, and everybody knows that you take the banana split over the ice cream bowl, unless you are allergic to bananas. The movie cut out the whole storyline with her Dad being an alcoholic, and just had her living with her mom. Which messed up a significant part of the plot that was included in the book. And you know what is even worse – they didn’t even have them work on their Scarlet Letter Book Essay together, which is one of the most frustrating things about this whole thing. That ties in the book to classic literature, and shows the depth behind the characters, and it really just has so much significance in the book that I don’t know how they can even justify taking it out of the movie. In all honesty, it just really hurt my heart. Now, if any of you were wondering what made me the most angry about this whole thing, it was the fact that they cut out my favourite scene in the book, when Wesley Rush punched Bianca’s father in the face. It. Was. My. Favourite. Part. Of. The. Book. So, if you can tell, that made me inexorably angry.

You all must now be wondering if I even liked the movie, and the answer is yes. I enjoyed the film. It was generally light-hearted, but the ending proved to have a deeper more impactful meaning, that I believe is important for all the girls and guys watching the movie. It was funny, the humour in it was inescapable, and it contained a lot of different types of humour as well. I am a big fan of very dry satire, and I didn’t think that the movie would be able to boast that, but it did it a unique way. I like that the movie is targeted toward a younger audience than the book was, because that means more people will be able to hear the message that Kody so brilliantly depicted in her novel. All in all, it was a good movie. It just wasn’t The DUFF.

Feel free to ask me any questions about what else I thought about the movie! I love hearing from you guys!

Keep on designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

Leave a Reply

