Quote of the Week

Quotes, some consider them the lifeline of inspiration, I consider them the occasional jumpstart when you are casually browsing the internet in search of the funniest cat video you have ever seen, but rather you get a quote that inspires and motivates you toward potential greatness. I am here today to cut the cat video hunting out of the equation, but because we can’t live our lives without cat videos, I will insert one just for you guys!

And now to get down to the possibly inspiring and potentially inspirational quote I have hand-picked for you guys today…

My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humour, and some style.

                                – Maya Angelou

I love this quote because it essentially describes the basis of all we, as humans, want to accomplish. No person would want to just exist, we all want to live, and to make an impact when we do. We want to be able to brag about our accomplishments, in the most humble way possible. We want to be able to leave the world a little better then we found it, all while experiencing human emotions and creating a person others aspire to be like. We want to be able to tell some funny stories along the way, and make some witty remarks while at it. And why the heck shouldn’t we look fantastic while doing all of this?

I know that I need to learn to live in the present, and stop worrying about things that may come into my life in dozens of years. Like retirement – I am almost seventeen and I was worried about retiring the other day, to which my parents pointed out that I have to start living in the now and not worry so much about may be an issue in the future, but is not pressing now. So lets make this our mission – read the books you want to read because they interest you, and not because somebody told you to read them. Lets all look for the humour in everyday and stop worrying about what may be an issue tomorrow. Lets dress the way that makes us feel amazing, and stop dressing the way that Vogue tells you to (although advice is always welcome). Lets watch the cat videos we want, and not the ones that we don’t. Lets watch the movies that interest us, and not watch them just because they have grossed $3oo million in the box office. Lets take everything one step at a time, but at the same time, never fail to prepare for what may be imminent.

That is my rant for this week, I thank all of you who are reading this right now, because without you, I would not be typing this.

Keep on designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

Leave a Reply

