Book Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

If you have been following our blog for just over a month you have probably seen my obsession with Colleen Hoover blow up. And if you haven’t been following our blog for that long, let me give you a little backstory to this…

Step One: I was hearing so many people talk about Colleen Hoover that one of her books (Ugly Love) made it on to my Christmas Wish List

Step Two: I heard that Ugly Love was being turned into a movie, and that Nick Bateman was playing Miles Archer, the main character

Step Three: I was at Chapters while buying other peoples Christmas presents, and bought myself Ugly Love because I was so excited

Step Four: I finished Ugly Love in one day

Step Five: I bought Hopeless on my Kobo

Step Six: I finished Hopeless in one day

Step Seven: Full-Blown Colleen Hoover obsession, and I want to read all of the rest of her books right now.

Ugly Love’s cover has been reviewed, its book read, and interned stalking of Nick Bateman and Colleen Hoover has been accomplished. What is next? O’ yes – a review.

Let’s start out with what happened on Goodreads – a rating of 5 stars.

Then let’s go over what I was texting Jordan…

This was over the span of a day. And then I proceeded to text all of our other friends and attempt to convince them to quickly read a Colleen Hoover book and then tell me how much they love it.

*Update – I forced Jordan to buy Maybe Someday so she can read it, and then I will borrow it and read it after.

So on to the actual book review; in a few words, amazing. This book was captivating, enthralling and kept me hungering for more. The fact that it is told from Miles’ and Tate’s perspective at different times in their lives adds a layer of dimension that is hard to come across in stand-alone novels. This book kept me gripping the side of the page, and forcing my eyes to read faster so that I could know what happens sooner. Miles is such an interesting character, and seeing two different times of his life helps you to understand why he is the way that he is. Tate is unique, and you never seem to question her past – because it simply doesn’t matter. She does not put up with other peoples shh(poo)itt.   And my favourite character of all – Cap. He is witty, and embodies the wisdom that everyone wished they come across with age. I loved Cap through the whole book, but then I loved him even more at the very end. Everything comes together, and Cap is right there with you for all of it.

The scheduled (yet highly tentative) release date for Ugly Love is Feburary 1st 2016 in the United States. Exactly a year from when I am writing this, and I couldn’t be more excited.

To buy Ugly Love check out these places…

The Book Depository     Chapters/Indigo     Barnes&Noble     Amazon     Kobo

Also, check out all of these places for potential information on the movie…

Colleen Hoover’s Website     Colleen Hoover’s Instagram     Colleen Hoover’s Twitter

Nick Bateman’s Instagram     Nick Bateman’s Twitter     IMDb

Anyway, keep on designing your own catastrophe, and I hope you all seized the Tuesday yesterday!

Hannah

 

One thought on “Book Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

