Book Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater is a series that I have had my eye on for quite sometime. Seeing it multiple times on many booktube accounts and also in the blogging community as well. So when I received the first three books in the series (all that are out so far) for christmas, it was the first one I was itching to start! cover_ravenboys_300

The Raven Boys is about a girl named Blue whose entire family are psychics except for her. She is the battery of sorts, if she is around her family they will get a better reading and feel more energy in the room. Her family only ever gives non-descriptive readings, except to Blue, she has always been told that her first kiss with her true love with kill him. She then meets four Raven Boys, they are all oddballs who are kind of the outcasts of their super preppy all boys private school but the leader of the group, Gansey is obsessed with finding a ley line. This ley line could lead him to what he has spent his whole life search for…

I loved the characters in this book, they were all so different and weird and you are always finding out more and more about them. Without these amazing characters I don’t think the book would be even close to what it actually is. Blue was a sarcastic character who loved to be different so she fit right in with the four raven boys who all had very distinct personalities.

I unfortunately had trouble with the writing style, although I have to say that some parts were worded very perfectly. I found it very hard to fall into the story and kept skimming over the huge paragraphs of description before feeling guilty and rereading. In a way it was very backwards sometimes, Maggie would explain something in a way that seemed way to over the top or just plain awkward, especially when there was a clear way she could have explained it. That’s just what I thought anyways, I know people love her writing style. I just don’t think its for me.

I do want to continue with this series I just know I won’t be latching on as much as I thought I would. I loved the plot and I can’t wait to see what other mythological elements are woven into the story. I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars which is pretty good overall in my books. If you have read any of the raven boys series or the shiver series (which I haven’t read) let me know your thoughts on her writing style and what you thought of the series in general. I would love to hear your opinions!

Keep on reading…

Jordan 🙂

Leave a Reply

