Cover Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

I have succumbed to the power of Kobo’s mystifying and utterly enchanting ways. I purchased a book. I told myself that I was not going to buy a book this year until I finished all the ones that I have on my bookshelf and Kobo. But no, I failed myself. And it feels amazing in a slightly terrifying way. I have never been one to break the rules, in any way shape or form, so for me to be here and to be saying that I broke my own rule is strange.

Anyway, I purchased Hopeless by Colleen Hoover on my kobo, and let me tell you why. That book was $4.62 ย (after tax) on Kobo, and if I were to buy a tangible copy at our local bookstore it would cost me $12.27 on my membership discount before tax(only if I purchased it at the online store and picked it up in store), it is probably also important to mention that all figures here are in Canadian Dollars. Honestly who does not want to save $7.65? My second reason why I bought the book is because I sat down the other day and devoured Ugly Love in a matter of hours. It was compelling, interesting, and it had me hooked ever since the first line. So, I thought to myself while I pondered the purchase that was going to ruin my only rule about Book Buying this year, why not?

Anyway, the cover to Hopeless looks like this…

It is definitely not my favourite cover, but it is not bad. I wonder id the sky and the fact that she appears to be lying on the ground stunned has anything to do with the story. I only wonder that because the Ugly Love cover makes a lot of sense after you finish reading the book. Anyway, the cover is relatively plain, and in my opinion, uninteresting. If I did not know who Colleen Hoover was, I would not reach for this as a new author on the shelf. I hope the book exceeds my opinion of the cover tenfold! Because in my understanding, some of the books with the worst covers tend to have amazing work hidden inside (A.K.A The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout). Anyway, that is really all my comments on the cover, but I hope that you are all having a great week, and are preparing for your exams with confidence and the poise that all bibliophiles carry!

If you want to buy this book on Kobo, click here!

Keep designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

3 thoughts on “Cover Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

  1. Whoa! I envy you just TELLING yourself you wouldn’t buy any books before finishing all that are on your bookshelf and Kobo. If I did thatโ€ฆ.I’d never buy another book again. Haha. I’ve heard good things about Hopeless, I bought it a couple weeks ago for $.99 on Amazon (Kindle version).

    I think the dark sky and the girl laying on the ground is to show that she’s just soโ€ฆhopeless and out of energy, doesn’t have much strength and maybe doesn’t see a purpose. I’m not crazy about the cover either. I think it’s the faded font.

    • I just wish I could stick to my plan, Laughing Out Loud! And yes, the book has some good reviews and ratings, I read just over 50% yesterday, and I am a on the fence on if I am enjoying it yet or not. And I totally agree with you, the faded font thing is not helping sell me on the cover whatsoever. The cover, after reading so much of the book is starting to make sense though! I won’t give any spoilers, but I always find it interesting when you start understanding why the cover looks a certain way after reading so much of a book!

      • Haha, it’s always hard to stick to certain plans. Especially book buying ones. Aw, well, I guess being on he fence isn’t the worst thing ever. It still has time to get better. I agree! It’s great to see how covers fit into the story. Two covers I think that are really interested given context are Aristolte and Dante Discover The Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz and 100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith.

Leave a Reply

