Book Review: Gene. Sys. by Aaron Garcia

Looking for a quick, easy read that you can just fly through? Want action, drama and romance? Well you got it all here with Gene. Sys. by Aaron Garcia! Whenever I am emailed about a certain book to read that I haven’t heard many things about I immediately go and look it up on goodreads. Seeing it was a bit higher than average ratings my interest peaked even more. I then decided to try the excerpt available on goodreads to see if this was the type of book for me and I was instantly sucked in. I finished the excerpt and was begging for more! This book was a very easy read with lots of dialogue and moderately sized chapters so its a very good book to read to try and get out of a reading slump, which I was in at the time.23131009

Now let’s talk about the actual book! Gene. Sys. is a dystopian novel that takes place after the 4th world war. There has been an ice age for many years now and the remaining humans are all confined to the middle of the planet, living in poverty and slowly dwindling off into extinction. That’s where the Genesys comes in; 12 super advanced humans created by the scientists to start earth over again. However, the other humans aren’t too thrilled that all of them will be killed off in a nuclear attack so the Genesys can rebirth the earth so they are constantly in danger and never know who they can trust. Maybe not even the people who created them? We follow the main character Atom who is paired with another Genesys named Ev (ha! get it?). Together they have to train the other Genesys before they are all split up with their respective partners where they will be sent to a safe house to wait out the end of the world so they can then start it again.

My favourite concept in this book was definitely the training. It reminded me a lot of what Tris had to go through in Divergent and having the simulation fights really brought the action level up a notch! The battles overall, simulationΒ and real, were great to read and I could easily picture exactly what was happening as I was reading it!

I really loved how easy it was to get into the story and care for the characters. Although I did find Atom to be quite a confusing character I connected well with the other Genesys and saw where each of them were coming from in certain situations. I was very surprised by the ending to this novel and I am already awaiting the sequel! Even though the writing wasn’t the most fluid that I have ever read I do feel that the story and plot altogether is gripping enough to have me recommend to my friends and you guys reading this right now!

Overall I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars, I was not expecting to enjoy this novel as much as I did and I hope that you will check it out and give it a go as well. I don’t think you will be disappointed!

 

If you are interested in reading Gene. Sys. by Aaron Garcia check it out on goodreads and maybe try the excerpt like I did! After reading those first few chapters I just couldn’t stop!

Let me know if you do end up giving this book a shot! I would love to discuss it with you!

Keep on reading…

Jordan πŸ™‚

*This book was given by the author, in exchange for an honest review.*

Leave a Reply

