Author Spotlight: Kody Keplinger

Welcome to a very new type of post for us here at Cover Too Cover, we are proud to be unveiling this on a cold wintry day in southern Ontario (if you want to see what the weather has been like check out my Steller account – I am in love with this app!), it is our Author Spotlight! Jordan and I will each write one of these posts a month, and be sharing them with all of you, the authors that we will choose to shine a light on will probably be ones that we have just read or are currently reading! So lets dive right in to the partial internet stalking that allowed me to make this post!

For my post this month I chose to do a post on author Kody Keplinger, I chose to do this because my book review on her book ‘The DUFF‘ will be posting tomorrow, and I thought it would be fitting because I loved that book so much! Anyway, as I am sure you all know the DUFF is also becoming a movie, which you can read more about in my last post! A

Anyway, an amazing thing about Kody is that she wrote her first novel, the DUFF, in her senior year of high school (if that is not inspiring I don’t know what is!)! I thought that was pretty cool and because of that I always wanted to read the book, but I didn’t get around to it until I heard that the book was going to become a movie, and then low and behold I was browsing the kobo bookstore that same day and they were having a sale on the book! It was like a call from the book heavens just screaming at me to read the book. And being myself I thought that only rational thing to do was to chuck all hopes of studying for my upcoming Biology test out the window and read that book! I finished it in a few days and absolutely loved the book! What I thought was really cool was that Kody makes playlists for all of the books she has written, and when reading her playlist for the DUFF I loved the book more than I had before! It really adds a whole new dimension to the reading experience and lets you get into the iPods and iPhones of the characters that you are reading about! Kody has written 5 novels so far, 4 young adult and 1 middle grade. The novels include The Swift Boys and Me (Middle Grade), Secrets and Lies (ebook novellas), Midsummer’s Nightmare, Shut Out and the DUFF. All of them have good ratings and reviews on goodreads and I can’t wait to read more of her writing! Kody also has two books scheduled to come out relatively soon, the first being Lying Out Loud, which is supposed to come out in 2015, and the second is Run which is expected to come out in 2016.

And it is not only Kody’s writing that is super cool, but she also seems like the type of author who you would want to hang out with all day, her ‘about‘ page on her website shows that we both have something in common, we both would love to be best friends with Tina Fey (who doesn’t?). I hope to read more of Kody’s writing in the near future and I hope that you are all as excited about the DUFF movie as I am!

Buy the DUFF at any of these places:
Chapters/Indigo     Kobo     Amazon     The Book Depository     Audible (Audio Book)

Also Don’t forget/friend/like Kody Keplinger on…

Twitter     Facebook     YouTube     Tumblr

Keep on designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

Leave a Reply

