Movie Review: Palo Alto

So I have posted the cover and book review, it is now only time to post the Palo Alto Movie Review too! I watched the movie a few days ago and gave my brain time to think of everything that I wanted to include in this post before actually writing it.

Okay, so the movie was directed by Gia Coppola and starred people like James Franco, Emma Roberts, Nat Wolff and many other talented actors and actresses. This movie was not true to the book, not that I was expecting it to, but I still think that fact should be included in this review. The movie was done in an interesting way, and it was quite good. After reading the book I liked how I could see that they blended some characters together and made the story lines overlap in a slightly more visible way.

The movie did not make me think as much as the book did, nor did it grasp my attention like the book did, but nonetheless the movie was still enjoyable, and I would encourage all who have thought about reading the book to do so. The movie showed a different aspect than what most movies revolving around the teenage life show. No, it didn’t deal with supernatural love, or a girl rising out of the ashes of a society and changing it for the better. It didn’t deal with the apocalypse or wizards, but it did show a truly raw and dark part of peoples lives that I have no doubt in my mind truly do exist in some peoples realities. I found it quite easy to sympathize with some characters, and others I was glad to not have. The movie really did show an aspect of a teenagers life that is not so often projected on a screen, and for that I am grateful.

Definitely check the movie and book out, and if you have any questions about the movie leave them in the comments and I will be sure to respond as quickly as possible!

Keep designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

Leave a Reply

