Isla and the Happily Ever After

If anyone ever asks me for a good contemporary recommendation the first author that I will always tell anyone to read is any book by Stephanie Perkins. So when I finally got my hands on the third and final book in the Anna in the French Kiss Companion trilogy, Isla and the Happily Ever After I started it almost instantly and finished it in under two days.

*DOES NOT SPOIL SERIES*

If you haven’t read or haven’t heard of (which I highly doubt) the Anna and the French Kiss Series it is based around a bunch of different people that are all friends or connected in some way and in each book is about each pairings story and how they get together and all that jazz. You can read them in any order but you do get the best experience reading them in the order of their release which is:

Stephanie Perkins Covers

Isla and the Happily Ever after follows Isla and Josh. Josh is St. Clair’s best friend from the first book which means characters form the previous books were mentioned quite a lot in this conclusion. Josh is a very talented artist and is making his entire high school life into a graphic novel and when Isla and Josh somehow find each other in New York everything changes when they head back to the American school in France for their senior year. But with all the stress about where to go to school and each other things might taken a turn for the worst.

I really enjoyed this book, I liked it a lot, maybe even more than the other two but don’t hold me to that! I feel like I need to reread all the books because most people like them even more the second time around! Isla and Josh’s relationship was so gripping and I loved how we were able to see their relationship build so much throughout the book whereas the other two books you didn’t see the couple together as much as I would have liked. Β Josh and Isla were both very real characters and I felt that everything that happened to them is quite realistic in their situation. It wasn’t instalove which was great because it makes the story seem that much more real. I do think the only problem with this book was Isla had a very strange thought process, she was constantly doubting herself and doubting Josh even after many things that proved that nothing would separate them. She was probably the only downfall to this story but overall I still gave it 5 stars just like the rest of the series!

The ending perfectly wrapped up all three stories and I just loved it so much! Stephanie Perkins always writes the most romantic stories and always have me wanting just a little bit more at the end!

What was your fav book in this series? Β Let me know what you think!

Keep on reading….

Jordan πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Isla and the Happily Ever After

    • You really should! Save them for after you read a really sad book because it is a great series/book to get you out of a reading slump! Let me know what you think when you do end up finishing them!

Leave a Reply

