Book Review: Say Her Name by James Dawson

Since last month was October I decided I wanted a scary read and I saw Ben from Benjaminoftomes on booktube recommend reading Say Her Name by James Dawson for a creepy read. I went right over to Chapters and picked up the book! And let me just say it was exactly they type of book I thought it would be, creepy and freaky!

18621200

Say Her Name is about a girl named Bobbie who goes to an all girls boarding school in the UK. It is full of preppy girls with rich parents and Bobbie can’t wait to graduate. One year on Halloween her and some of her schoolmates along with a few boys from the other school in town sit around and tell ghost stories. Then someone brings up the story of Bloody Mary. But this isn’t the version that everyone around the world knows, no, its about a girl who went to Bobbies very school. Three of them, including Bobbie, her roommate and one of the hot boys from the other school decide to say her name 5 times in front of a mirror. Then strange things start to happen. Can they figure out what happened before its too late or will their 5 days run out?

The book was very creepy just like I wanted it! I have never read a book classified as a horror. I have read books that have been scary at some parts but nothing like this so I wasn’t sure what to expect. James Dawson did an excellent job at making Mary seem as faceless and murderous until the very end but still gave great insight into this unique twist on the popular legend. I feel like the characters were well thought out and I did enjoy reading from Bobbies perspective because you got to see her become more confident in herself as the story went on.

One thing that I did not enjoy about this book was sometimes the story would lag on. I felt like a few of the days just didn’t seem to go by fast enough. I also found the relationship a bit out there although if I only had 5 days to live I bet I wouldn’t care about rushing into a relationship!

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads for its creepiness and well developed storyline. Say Her Name definitely had me scared to look in a mirror! Was there any freaky books that you have read recently? Β Let me know below!

Keep on reading…

Jordan πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

