Book Review: The Retribution of Mara Dyer

Let me tell you a story, I was in Chapters looking around on all the shelves when I saw something. A book. This book was the Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. I walked over to it, took it off the shelf and almost started hyperventilating in the young adult section. I was so excited! It wasn’t supposed to come out for two whole weeks! When I got home I opened it to start reading and there was a signature! I was freaking out!

Anyways, I read the book of course and loved it! So I thought I would give you my thoughts on the book so people know what to expect before they can read it. This review will be spoiler free.The Mara Dyer Trilogy

The Mara Dyer trilogy if you didn’t already know is about a girl named Mara Dyer who is in a building one night with her friends when the building collapses. She is the only one to survive and because of this traumatic experience she is diagnosed with PTSD. She sees things and she doesn’t know if they are real or if it is just her imagination. Her family ends up moving away and at her new school Mara meets Noah. It’s about her journey through her recovery as well as figuring out what is wrong with her. Especially when people keep dying wherever she goes. It’s an amazing paranormal read and if you haven’t checked it out yet I highly suggest you do!

The Retribution of Mara Dyer is the third book in the series and it picks up right where we left off in the Evolution. After not reading the series for so long I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to understand what was going on and some of the small details that were mentioned in the other books but Michelle reexplained many major parts of the previous books making it easier to jump right back into this world. The book had me constantly guessing and trying to figure out what was going on and it was very fast paced. The book was once again funny and kept the humour well even during the scary/intense parts.

One of the things that did disappoint me was the lack of certain characters in the book, mainly Mara’s family who we see so much of in the other books. Not many stories focus on the family in young adult books these days so it was refreshing to read about hers. So that did disappoint me. I also found some parts were a bit rushed which made some sections feel like there were holes in the story.

The ending was amazing though. It wrapped up everything perfectly and gave me a sense that the story was complete. It wasn’t one of those ending that left me needing a few more chapters, even though I will always read more related to this series. I think Michelle really thought through the ending and started the series knowing exactly how she wanted to end it.

I hope this gives you a feeling about what the book is like, I can’t wait to hear all your thoughts about the book and the ending to this series! This was definitely a 5 star book and a 5 star series!

audible.comΒ sent me the link to a snippet of the audio book of The Retribution of Mara Dyer narrated by Christy Romano for you guys to listen to! Check it out below and if you want to download the full audio book check it out here!

Keep on reading…

Jordan πŸ™‚

ps sorry this review was late, I have been super busy this week!

One thought on “Book Review: The Retribution of Mara Dyer

  1. Pingback: The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins Audio Book Snippet! | Cover Too Cover

Leave a Reply

