Quote of the Week

I must confess – this week my quote did not come from my unhealthy obsession with Tumblr.

Gasp Gif

I know, I know, it is truly shocking. But this one came to me through another social media website, Twitter!

This quote is from one of my favourite philosophers and I am so glad that I came across it, so shall we proceed? (I think we shall)

“Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.”

                          – Voltaire

Anyway, I really like this quote because I am a big believer in the fact that being literate and receiving an education should be offered to all those around the world. People should have the chance to receive a substantial education and truly be able to experience that accompanies reading. Compare it to all those photos you see of children having cake for the first time – they can’t get enough. And I feel like that should be the same for reading. No matter your race, religion, gender, or any other defining factor, one should have the ability to say that they have received and education and on top of that have learned to read. I hope to one day see a world where that is true and I will do all I can to see that happen. But for now we need to be activists for basic human rights – even that of water. Which I constantly find myself taking advantage of, seeing as I live in the country with the most access to fresh water in the world. Even dance, it is a huge part of so many cultures around the world and brings joy, it does no harm, and nor does it intend to. Creative outlets are to be cherished and celebrated, and I hope that everyone has found theirs.

Sorry that this weeks quote turned into a slightly long winded rant, but I really want to hear your opinions on this quote too!

Anyway, I hope you are all having a great week, and the rest of it gets even better.

Keep on designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

Leave a Reply

