Cover Review: The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

Being a huge fan of J.K. Rowling I knew that I would eventually have to read ‘The Casual Vacancy’, and the Goodwill that my Step-Mom brought be to so she could shop for Mid-Century Modern Furniture gave me the perfect excuse to purchase it and add it to the ever growing collection of novels that take up space on my fire place! Anyway, I thought that I should do a post on this Cover prior to reading it, and so I guess, here we go…

Well, because I got a different cover from the most-common one, I thought I would do a review on the one that I own…

Anyway, the cover reminds me of a novel that takes place in a small town but symbolizes so much more than that. I would assume that it takes on stereotypes and discrepancies within society with an aura of grace and intelligence. I hope this book lives up to my expectations (but I am wary if it will). This cover is definitely not my favourite cover I have ever seen, but it is not atrocious. Much better than the covers of the Lux Series (mainly the originals, the new ones are acceptable because they are sparkly). I have heard very mixed reviews on this book, and I hope that doesn’t cloud my opinion while reading it, but you never know!

If any of you have read it and have an opinion on it please let me know in the comments!

And keep on designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

Leave a Reply

