Cover Review: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

Another week, another Cover Review for you all… and this week I bring to you the cover of Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. This book has been residing in my kobo and on my laptop for quite an amount of time and I have still yet to throw myself into its e-book pages! Without further a due… here is the cover! (Drumroll please…)

The cover screams Bookworm (and despite Jordan’s earlier post I actually like the term)! It shouts into the plethora of readers and begs them to open its pages with its mysterious title and elusive ladder that ascends into a collection of words that form a story. This book seems interesting and captivating, and I can’t wait to read it. Especially after the Chapters employee on my trip to Ottawa gushed about it! The cover is one that I am drawn to and wary of at the same time, but all in all I think it is a good fit for a book about a bookstore! Many of you have probably seen it by this cover:

But the Kobo edition comes with the other one so that is what I chose to review!

Anyway, if you have read this leave me your opinions it in the comments please!

Keep designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

2 thoughts on “Cover Review: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

  1. It’s probably just my preference for non-photo covers (I also hate restaurant menus that include pictures of food) but I much prefer the yellow cover. Having read the book I understand that the photo cover is appropriate but it’s a little to literal for me. It also doesn’t consider that the book is in large part about technology. The book title is interesting and mysterious and it should be the star – as it is on the yellow cover.

Leave a Reply

