Book Review: The 5th Wave

I know. This review was supposed to be up yesterday, but I went to my trailer where there is no wifi and could not post the review! I am home now so here is the review as promised! This is a spoiler free review!Β picture-of-the-5th-wave-cover-phot

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. I have been staring at the book on the shelves in chapters since around the time it came out. I kept telling myself to wait until it came out in paperback because the hardcover in Canada is just soooo expensive. However, I did not listen and bought the book anyway.

Science Fiction novels have been my new favourite genre to read so I was super excited to read yet another book about aliens coming to earth! The book starts off from the perspective of a teenage girl named Cassie who is living in the wilderness by herself but you don’t know why. You eventually find out about what has happened to get her to that location and what is happening to the world. Basically, aliens invaded earth and are killing off the humans in the form of waves. So far there have been 4 waves and the 5th wave has yet to start. These are the waves; lights out, tsunamis, sickness, silencers. Freaky, right?

The book switches perspectives constantly between Cassie and different boys in the book. I loved read the new perspectives and trying to figure out who I was reading from before Rick actually made it clear. It was a fun way to read the book!

The characters were so amazing and the character development for the characters before the invasion and after, and just throughout the story in general was incredible!

The 5th Wave was thrilling and gripping until the last page! The only thing that I didn’t enjoy about the book was that the beginning was quite depressing; which I understand why it would, and a little bit slow. It eventually picked up and I zoomed through the book but make sure you really give this book a chance guys! I can’t wait to find out what happens in the second book the Infinite Sea! I have started the second book and I am kind of skeptical in the wave he has decided to start it but I al only 20 pages in so I can’t be too judgemental!

Who has read the 5th wave? Let me know what you thought below! Hopefully I will have the infinite sea book review up real soon!

Keep on reading…

Jordan πŸ™‚

One thought on “Book Review: The 5th Wave

Leave a Reply

