Book Review: TMI by Patty Blount

Best friends don’t lie.
Best friends don’t ditch you for a guy.
Best friends don’t post your deepest, darkest secrets online.

TMI was given to me, to borrow, by a friend who literally shoved it into my hands and said “I finished it in two days. Read it!” After months of it sitting on my shelf being pushed farther and farther down my TBR list my friend asked if I read the book yet. I made a promise to finish it by the following Sunday. I kept my promise. tmi-cDuMiI-medium

TMI, not to be confused with the shadowhunter series, is a book about the internet. The internet is a very dangerous place these days. Children and teenagers don’t know how to control themselves when there online. They don’t think before they type, message, or post something because they don’t have to actually face the person they are talking too or about. This is a big reason why technology is ruining our social skills. Anyways, this book was about the repercussions of posting something online. The book was very realistic and although I wanted to throw the two main characters against a wall at some points, I still enjoyed the book! Ryder, the mysterious boy that Bailey meets online was a very interesting way to add conflict in the story. When I was reading the book I was constantly guessing who Ryder could be or if he was real or fiction. I love books that keep me guessing and this one did! At first, I was quite skeptical about reading a book between the perspective of two girls because some books written in this way can be really cheesy and to be honest; annoying. Patty somehow made it work perfectly! Meg and Bailey both had different ways of looking at different situations making the book more dynamic and interesting. Both of the girls were flawed in some way which is always fun to read about because people in books shouldn’t always be perfect. They need to mess up sometimes too!

I think that this book would be perfect for middle school kids to read because it really does send the perfect message about posting things online. And if I enjoyed it I know someone else will as well! I hope you consider reading this book because I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would and I know that most readers will too!

Have you read this book? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments!

Keep on reading…

Jordan 🙂

Leave a Reply

