Quote of the Week: Protectiveness

Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book. -John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

John Green, an amazing and talented author, has the deepest and most meaningful quotes but at the same time can be completely wacky and silly. I think that is why he has been most successful in his writings. He is one of my favourite authors of all time. When I first read The Fault in Our Stars, it was before most teenage girls had read it, so nobody could spoil it for me, thank god! But after I was finished reading I wanted every living soul to read this book to experience what I experienced. Most have read the book by now, and now I’m protective over the book. This happens a lot with books that I love and then become popular. I wanted everyone to read it and then when people do start to read it I’m like “No! It’s mine!” I just feel that some people don’t appreciate literature as much as they should so when I see certain people, especially the populars at my school, reading or talking about a book I have cherished it makes me feel protective of the book that isn’t even mine but has changed me in a way.

There are other books I would guard with my life but at the same time I still want everyone to read. I know I’m not the only one that feel this way, let me know which books you became protective over!

Keep on reading…..

Jordan πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

