The Book Sacrifice Tag

Jordan did this tag a while back and I decided to do it myself, so here we go…

#1: An Over-Hyped Book: Let’s start this off with a Zombie Apocalypse! Let’s say you’re in a book store, just browsing, when BAM! ZOMBIE ATTACK. An announcement comes over the PA System saying that the military has discovered that the zombies’ only weakness is over-hyped books. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you really hated do you start chucking at the zombies knowing that it will count as an over-hyped book and successfully wipe them out?!

Answer:  Pretty Little Liars Series by Sara Shepard

I chose this series because when I began reading them people told me that they were amazing and I had to read them, unfortunately I did not think as highly about them as the average pre-teen did at the time. And because of that I must admit I read a fair number of the drawn-out series, and am deeply regretting it now, basically because they were not as amazing as people led me to believe that they were. There was so much potential with the storyline and I just think that it did not live up to the bar set by people I talked to about this series prior to purchasing them.

#2: A Sequel: Let’s say you’ve just left the salon with a SMASHING new haircut and BOOM: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

Answer: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Was that even a question? How can the answer be anything but that treachery that made it into print. I cannot even speak of the horror that Allegiant is. That is all.

#3:  A Classic: Let’s say you’re in a lecture and your English teacher is going on and on about how this classic changed the world, how it revolutionized literature and you get so sick of it that you chuck the classic right at his face because you know what? This classic is stupid and it’s worth detention just to show everyone how you feel! What Classic did you chuck?

Answer: The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

I don’t know if this counts as a Classic, but I did quite hate it. I don’t think I ever made it past the 4th chapter while I was attempting to read this book, nor do I ever feel like I will considering that I gave it to my local Value Village to try and have some other poor soul attempt to read it. This book was just so dry, so boring, and so flat that even my 12 year old self and countless times that I was younger than that trying to read that book could not be entertained. And I can be entertained quite easily, let me tell you that.

#4: Your Least Favourite Book of Life!: Let’s say that you’re hanging out at the library when BAM global warming explodes and the world outside becomes a frozen wasteland. You’re trapped and your only chance for survival is to burn a book. What is the book you first run to, your least favourite book of all life, what book do you not fully regret lighting?

Answer: The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

When I was younger I was an avid reader, just as I am now. And one Christmas I was given the box set of the Golden Compass trilogy to amuse my adventurous mind. I thoroughly enjoyed both The Golden Compass and The Subtle Knife, but the rest of it just went to poop. All the Characters died and the story wasn’t progressing so I stopped reading it. And never have I finished despite my many attempts to try and read it again. That book was a disaster until the time that I stopped trying to read it, and I will never know if it got any better because I was never able to compose myself enough to find the determination to do anything to  that book besides burn it.

Honourable Mentions: My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares: I have not yet been able to finish that book. It was quite dry and slow-moving, which forced me to stop reading it, maybe I will pick it up again another day, but you never know.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed hearing about all the books I have deemed atrocious and I hope that you let me know what your answers to these questions are in the comments!

Anyway, keep on designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

Leave a Reply

