Book Review: Opposition

*THIS REVIEW IS SPOILER FREE!* (even to people who haven’t read the Lux series at all)

The Lux Series is by far one of my all time favourite series. It is a funny, action packed book full of romance and the wonderful Daemon Black. Jennifer L. Armentrout continued to exceed my expectations with this wonderful closer to a brilliant series.

Opposition picked up right where we left off with Daemon and Katy in Origin pulling me right back into the story and quickly catching me up on things I might have forgotten or needed reexplaining.  I’ll tell you one thing, I did not forget how hot Daemon was thats for sure! *swoon*

Although there were some parts of the book that didn’t have a lot going on that was necessary to the plot, I was still intrigued to find out what would happen next and how the relationship between Daemon and Katy would continue to grow. Many characters; especially Dee, went through tremendous character development that showed just how much these characters had to go through to protect themselves and their loved ones. One scene between Katy and Dee actually reminded me of the famous dystopian novel Divergent. If you have read both book you probably know what I’m talking about. Katy also grew a lot throughout the novels in general, so it was interesting to see what the final product was for her after going through so much in such a short time. At least it felt like a short time to me. However, Katy still was written to show weakness just like any human being should. A good well developed character does show heartache, but being able to bounce back from that shows just how strong of a character they really are.

Archer and Luc were brought back once again into the novels and always made me laugh and roll my eyes at their banter with Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Archer really grew and changed in this novel but they constant bickering remained.

The prequel that was included after the end of Opposition was very cool to read. At first I was a little bit skeptical and was going to wait to read it but after the 2nd chapter I was already hooked. I loved to see the foreshadowing to things I know would happen later on in the story, and I also loved to see Daemon before Katy. Daemon changed so much from when he first met Katy and to the end of the series and I now understand why he was so cruel to her at first. I’m so happy Jennifer decided to include this prequel in the book because it really gave me a new look at Daemon, one I would have never saw if I didn’t read about that part of his life. Dawson and Beth’s love story was very different compared to Katy and Daemons, which makes sense considering their personalities are almost total opposites. However, you see that both boys are very protective over the people that they love and when they love, they love with nothing short of their entire being.

Opposition was another incredible well-written book that shows how much time and planning went into this series. I couldn’t stop reading and I was so engrossed in the book I didn’t realize how late it was until I looked at the clock and saw it was almost 3am, and even then I still had to force myself to put it down! I will miss reading about the story of Katy, Daemon, Dee, Dawson and Beth but I know that I will definitely be rereading this series in the near future. Jennifer wrote a finale that left me feeling satisfied but will forever have me craving more! Thank you!

What did you think of the Lux Series? Let me know?

Keep on Reading…..

Jordan Teasdale

 

Leave a Reply

