Book Review: The Distance Between Us

WordPress has this amazing thing called scheduling. And because I’m in Italy I have been writing all of my posts ahead of time to make sure they will post properly. So about a week ago I wrote the cover review for The Distance Between Us by Kasie West and I ended up finishing the book the next day! I just kept telling myself the famous “just one more chapter” and before you know it was 2am, I’m 70% through and I have to get up at 7:30 the next morning. Obviously I enjoyed the book…
I went into this book with low expectations considering I bought it for under 5$ on the kobo app. I thought it would be a poorly written, unoriginal piece by some b-class author but boy was I wrong!
The book was very well written and had me constantly wanting to continue reading! It was one of those books that had me entertained even though there was not a lot of action in it. It was short, cute and funny but also touched on the very real social classes in America. From living on only dollars a day to having companies named after you, this book will allow you to see the side of both worlds in a unique way.
The book started out by the characters meeting each other right away which made me instantly become curious as to how they will continue to find each other. In my cover review I guessed that the boy, aka Xander, would be a jerk obsessed with money but I was way off. He was a sweet boy who just wanted to find out what to do with his life that wasn’t following the family business. This is why you should never judge a book by its cover (even though we still do). The book was about a girl named Caymen who works in her moms doll shop to help pay for basic necessities when a rich boy named Xander walks in to buy a doll for his Grandma. He immediately shows interest and her but Caymen has be taught not to trust the rich for his interest will never last long. They become quick friends bonding over the fact that they both don’t know what they want to do with their lives. In the drama that follows they start to find themselves and learn that stereotypes aren’t important.
I would recommend this book to anyone who has read Anna and the French Kiss, John green or just enjoy cute and contemporary romance novels.
Keep on Reading….
Jordan πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

