Book Review: Panic by Lauren Oliver

Panic. The game that they play is fierce and blood-curdling, the challenges they face atrocious and hell-worthy, and the repercussions of the game ghastly. That is what Panic is all about.

*This Review is Spoiler Free*

The concept of this book is what drew my eyes to it at the bookstore for months before I cracked under pressure and succumbed to the purchase of this lovely book. I have to admit, this is not the best book I have ever read, but it was still good. I didn’t really like the ending (but I am pretty picky with endings) but the development of the story was really good. I also liked the way that it was written, showing the day before the beginning of the chapter and switching between Dodge and Heathers perspective.

One of the reasons I really enjoyed this book is because it showed the poor and corrupt part of society in such a realistic way. It proved that YA novels aren’t always about falling in love with your boyfriend or saving the world, just about doing whatever it takes to survive. It shows an animalistic and barbaric part of people, the kind of people that are in a desperate enough of a situation to play Panic, and continue playing Panic even after the unspeakable happens. The vague way the book was written was also really intriguing and quite enjoyable, because she didn’t write every day of their lives while playing Panic and sometimes skipped a week at a time, I consider that to be Vague, but it gave the book a slight mystery element. At first I thought Panic was going to be like the ‘Hunger Games’ after a modern-day high school graduation, but I was dead wrong, Panic combined the elements of your greatest fear, imminent death and terror all into one action packed game where hormones run high and the stress levels even higher.

I was also expecting a love triangle in this book (as the average YA novel contains one) but I was happily surprised to only find vague hints of one, and not a full blown “I love you,” “But I love you more.” battle. Anyway I would definitely recommend this book to all of you wanting to read a book with a lot of suspense but is set in a contemporary setting.

The goodreads page to the book is here.

And to buy it on Amazon click here.

And always remember to design your own catastrophe…

Hannah

One thought on “Book Review: Panic by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

