Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss

There are many sad books out in the YA book world. Many have been made into movies, the most recent one The Fault in Our Stars which was brilliant. Anyways, they say – and by they I mean the book fandoms – that Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins is the book to read to make yourself feel better after reading a sad book. So after a long time of putting it back on the shelf at my local bookstore, I finally decided I should just try it. I was not disappointed.

I finished the book in under two days and became attached to the characters very quickly. It was a very easy read that still played with my emotions but had a very nice ending and had me wanting more. Anna was a very sarcastic character who’s thoughts had me chuckling. She was just a normal teenage girl who reacted how any teenage girl would when they meet a smoking hot boy like St. Clair.

The newly designed cover is beautiful and much more sophisticated that the original. I think the reason I didn’t read this book sooner was because I was afraid it was just going to another silly love story with no plot. Boy was I wrong. Stephanie created this whole world around an english group of teens living in France and somehow made it work without fail.

AnnaFrenchKissSmall

There were many amazing lines from the book that were funny like:

“I mean, really. Who sends their kid to boarding school? It’s so Hogwarts. Only mine doesn’t have cute boy wizards or magic candy or flying lessons.”

And quotes that were really heartfelt and made me think:

“The more you know who you are, and what you want, the less you let things upset you.”

The book was about love, friendship and just life in general. They characters were very ordinary but I think thats what made the book so real. So easy to connect with as a teenage girl myself. This is definitely one of my top reads and I know I will be reading it again after I finish crying over another book.

Here is the link to the book on Goodreads

And if you are interested in buying the book on Amazon 

Have you read Anna and the French Kiss? Do you agree that it is the book to go to for a pick-me-up? Let me know in the comments!

Keep reading!

Jordan 🙂

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss

Leave a Reply

