The Fault In Our Stars Movie Review and Experience

The hauntingly beautiful movie was what Jordan and I, along with many others spent our Thursday night watching. The beautifully written and directed book to movie adaptation added to the book in a cinematic masterpiece that is to astound viewers and let them relate to a love story, that although fictional, is beautiful in its own literary sense. And without further a due, both Jordan and I’s thoughts on the movie…

1106_tfios-thenightbeforeourstars_918A

Jordan

The Fault in Our Stars is one of my favourite books of all time, which is why I recommended it to almost everyone I know, including Hannah. It was amazingly written and I just love the characters and John Green so I was quite excited when I found out I got to see an advanced screening called ‘The Night Before Our Stars’. After seeing multiple book-to-movie adaptations go down the drain (Vampire Academy and The Mortal Instruments unfortunately) I was quite nervous about how this movie would turn out. But I was very happy to see that the movie was portrayed perfectly! They kept it as close to the book as I think they possibly could. I loved the way they allowed Shailene Woodley to portray Hazel in a very teenage girl way like how she was constantly checking her phone to see if Gus was texting her. I did cry but not as much as I thought I would, I think this is because I knew what was coming and the movie kept all the humour from the book so I was laughing a lot more than I was crying. I can’t even think of my favourite scene because each scene spoke to me in a different way and gave me different emotions. There were lots of feels in that theatre, it was full of screaming and sobbing fangirls and I loved every second of it! I can’t wait to go back and see it again! I know I will and it was so amazing to see the live cast after and the cameo from John Green that was cut from the real movie because of timing reasons.

Hannah

The book, I must admit, at first disappointed me. People were telling me about how great of a book it was and how it was their favourite book of all time, and I was expecting it to blow my mind. Although a great book, and I really did like it, it did not live up to its expectations set by others for me. The movie however surpassed my expectations. Many of the book to film adaptations have been falling shy of expectations for me, and so lately I have been setting them pretty low, but TFIOS was beautifully composed and showed the true side of the book. Although they left out my favourite part, when the Taxi Driver in Amsterdam says, “Some tourists think Amsterdam is a city of sin, but in truth it is a city of freedom. And in freedom, most people find sin.” Seeing as that is my favourite quote from the book, I was quite sad to see that it didn’t make it into the movie. But nonetheless, the movie was beautiful and the theatre was filled with tears and laughter and smiles and just all around joy. I did not cry, I think it is because I have no soul (think season 6 Sam from Supernatural). Just kidding, I have a soul, I am just really bad at relaying emotions. Anyway the movie was beautiful and it showed the pain that both Augustus and Hazel went through with meaning and purpose. It proved that John’s book has touched millions (although that was already proved), so I guess it just reinforced the fact that people can be brought together to watch something that has a message, and they can take from it that message and relay it into ordinary life. Now I will just wait until Looking For Alaska is made into a movie, because that beautiful piece of literature should be made into a movie as well.

Are you seeing The Fault in Our Stars this weekend? If you have already seen it let us know what you think in the comments!

Okay?

Hannah and Jordan

One thought on “The Fault In Our Stars Movie Review and Experience

Leave a Reply

