Book Review: Shatter Me By Tahereh Mafi

All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not just with my hands but with my heart

Juliette hasn’t touched someone for 264 days, the last time she did the consequences were disastrous. That is why she is now inside a mental institution, locked away from everyone with only a journal and a pen to keep her occupied. That is, until they decide to put a boy in the same room with her. 

3dd6e679f6a38fbf62007bc610782a94

The Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi was one of the greatest series I have ever read. The way she put a dystopian and a supernatural idea into one book just amazes me. Most writers would’t be able to pull off such a complicated story like this one. Juliette was a very weak girl and character at the beginning which is understandable considering her awful past, however throughout the book she becomes more sure of herself and shows real character development. I just loved how Tahereh portrayed the book as if Juliette was writing it down, because most girls who would write about their lives, would have some thoughts they would regret and scratch out, especially if it included two hot boys. 

Adam and Warner. Where do I even begin? These two boys are so different yet so alike in so many ways. Adam is was the perfect character for Juliette to warm up too and introduce her into the world she has been isolated from for all those long days. He was a very misunderstood character just like the leader of the military, Warner. Warner is the evil, revolting type of character that just makes you want to punch him and throw him against a wall continuously in Shatter me. Both such powerful characters who have very interesting relationships with Juliette. It was like a roller-coaster reading this series!

Shatter Me was also full of teenage humour, mostly from Adams friend Kenji who was probably my favourite character in the end. He always knew what to say to lighten the mood even though he has so much pain built up inside. The relationship between Juliette and Kenji was quickly brought together and they became the best of friends.

There was nothing that I really disliked about the book except that the part Juliette spent with Warner in the facility did drag on for a little longer than necessary. But I recommend this book to anyone who loved Divergent and wants a great book that you will finish in no time! Trust me, I finished the third and final book in this series; Ignite Me, in one day.

Have you read Shatter me? Are you going to read it? Let me know below! I love to talk books with peoples!

Leave a Reply

