The Spectacular Now

The Spectacular Now.

How that movie changed my perception of love in many different ways. The connection that Shailene Woodley and Miles Teller had in that movie was also something astounding. (Like Gosh! I thought Tris hated Peter! “Take it off Stiff… Put it back on!”, sorry about the Divergent Movie reference, sometimes they just spew out of my tiny fingers typing, it’s word vomit, but permanently stuck on the internet. I guess that is now stuck too.

Anyway, I thought it would be a good idea if I wrote about that Shailene has been in, because The Fault in Our Stars comes out in 8 days, and I know how excited everybody is for that movie! This will be spoiler free as well, just so you all know that!

This movie follows Sudder Keeley (Miles Teller), and his journey through his senior year in high school. And he thinks, he has everything he needs. But who really knows what they need and want when they are 18 years old? I know I sure won’t. And one day Sudder passes out on someones lawn only to be found by the bookworm Aimee Finnickey (Shailene Woodley), early the next morning. And the movie follows Sudder’s life though Senior year, with his new found “friend”, Amy.

This movie depicted falling in love and the pain that life has placed on young people in an entirely different light, the movie was astoundingly good, and made me want to watch it over and over again. Not to mention the movie cover is gorgeous…

 

This movie, I don’t even know how to put it into words truly. It taught me so much about life and love and how to overcome it all. It shocked me, I thought this was going to be another cheesy teenage RomCom, but it truly wasn’t. And I want all of you to go and watch this movie, if not because I asked you than because you should. This movie is one I would highly recommend watching when you need to see something that you wouldn’t expect from a movie that seems to be just the average Teenage Girl of a movie. I will leave you guys with a link to the trailer:

A link to buy it on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Spectacular-Now-Miles-Teller/dp/B00H8AXJR6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1400708242&sr=8-1&keywords=the+spectacular+now

And I will probably go and buy the book now as well, just because I want to relive the experience of life through Sudder’s eyes.

Keep designing your own disasters…

Hannah

5 thoughts on “The Spectacular Now

  1. Good review Hannah. It’s the type of movie I think all teens should see because of how it discusses the very real idea of failure and how, sometimes, life doesn’t always go the way we plan.

Leave a Reply

