Quote of the Week

Although I have been reading some truly amazing books lately, I have not found a quote in them that speaks to me. I have however, found quotes from an Italian Renaissance polymath, someone who has painted history with his writing, art and other miraculous ideas and inventions, Leonardo da Vinci. I am actually quite a big fan of many of his quotes, and those of which can be found repeatedly in the pages of my journal(s). And yet the one specific quote that I am looking at today is one that stands out and in my opinion, holds importance in my mind.

The greatest deception men suffer is from their own opinions.” 

                  -Leonardo da Vinci

This quote helps me realize that I can’t be so hard on myself, something I often struggle with as a perfectionist by nature. I, like many others, relentlessly pick myself apart to an extent that only does bad. I realize that there is always room for improvement, and I respect that, but the continuous putting down of oneself will help none in life. This quote also helps me realize that I am not the only person struggling with this problem, as da Vinci addresses ‘men’ as a whole. It shows me that the raw flaws of humanity are beautiful, and that scars are meant to be shown, as they are a tribute to the past and what you have conquered and accomplished. Finding quotes like these always leaves me in an inspired mood as well, they show me to live and live freely, seize the opportunity or ‘Carpe Diem’, seize the day, which is something I wish I was willing to do easier and not always stick with what I know. After all, everybody needs adventures to reflect upon and look back on longingly, those memories that you are happy thinking about and wish you could escape back to those few moments, even if only for a few minutes. But you wouldn’t, because someone who “Seizes the Day” does not long for the one before. Anyway, I apologize for my rambling and I hope you all actually understand my point in this and go on a search to find quotes that speak to you as well.

Anyway, I hope you all are still designing your own catastrophe…

Hannah

Leave a Reply

